HTC To Retract Locked Bootloader Policy

HTC has been under fire by the homebrew community lately regarding locked bootloaders of the many HTC top tier phones including the Sensation and Evo 3D. A locked bootloader does not allow for custom ROM’s, also called cooked ROM’s, to be installed on your device. Just a couple days ago, HTC reassured customers that they were reassessing their policy regarding bootloaders and today HTC CEO Peter Chou released an official statement.

"There has been overwhelmingly customer feedback that people
want access to open bootloaders on HTC phones. I want you to
know that we've listened. Today, I'm confirming we will no
longer be locking the bootloaders on our devices. Thanks for
your passion, support and patience."

It is not clear if HTC will retrospectively update the bootloader of devices already sold with a locked loader but the possibility is relatively likely. All-in-all great news regardless and hopefully all other manufacturers follow suit *cough* Motorola.

Source HTC’s Facebook Page

About Hagop Barounian

I have many interests in the field of entertainment and technology, I enjoy discussions about my interests and always enjoy the criticism. I have a strong opinion of the topics I discuss, so please feel free to comment about any of your concerns and opinions on my blog @ www.techfibe.com.
This entry was posted in Devices, Industry News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment